The Canadian riders rode first thing this morning at 8:00 am in the competition ring. I was super nervous for this because yesterday he had been unrideable. He was definitely more calm today but was still definitely "on the edge". He still prefers jogging to walking right now and at any moment he feels like he could explode. Often he is distracted by the large pond near the stadium and horses in fields in the distance. But, all in all he was way better today and I am feeling a little bit better but still very nervous about having to put a test together.
At 4:00 pm was the jog. All the Canadians went down together and Oslo and I were the second last of all the riders to jog. That meant standing around (or in Oslo's case, running and jogging around) for about half an hour till our turn. By the time it was our turn to jog, Oslo was in a lather from spinning in circles under the blazing hot sun. He seemed terrified of the interstate in the distance and some other mystery things. We proceeded to the jog and Oslo would not stand for the vet inspection before hand, nor stop looking out towards the highway. Next came the actual jog part and instead of jogging Oslo decided running would be better and instead of going in a straight line he decided to head towards me running us both out of the fenced area. Somehow the vets were able to see him trot well enough to pass him, but overall the experience was not a great one!
So once again, I am not very faithful about how things will go tomorrow. I ride at 10:52 am - 20th out of 30 riders.
No comments:
Post a Comment